Council Composition

As stipulated in Section 4 of the NCHE Act, of 2011 The COUNCIL consists of six persons appointed by the Minister on account of high professional standing, special knowledge, skills and expertise in matters related to higher education in order to provide policy oversight.
In addition, the Act provides for the inclusion of the following ex-officio members:

  •  The Secretary for Education or his designated representative;
  • The Secretary to the Treasury or his designated representative;
  • The Comptroller of Statutory Corporations or is designated representative;
  • The Secretary for Human Resource Management and Development;
  • Two Vice Chancellors to represent public universities; and
  • One Vice Chancellor to represent public universities.

The Secretariat headed by the Chief Executive Officer, supports Council in the execution of its mandate. The Secretariat is organized into two main departments, namely Accreditation and Quality Assurance, and Corporate Services.


The National Council for Higher education has three committees as follows;

  1. Quality Assurance and Accreditation
  2. Finance, Administration and Appointment
  3. Audit and Risk Management

Meet the Council

Dr. Bruce Munthali - Chairperson

Independent Member and Chairperson of Council

He has a PhD in Agronomy from the University of Malaŵi/University of Bristol, United Kingdom; Master of Science (Agronomy) from Nottingham University (UK) and Bachelor of Science (Agriculture) and Diploma in Agriculture from University of Malaŵi. He has attended trainings leading to award of certificates in the following areas of expertise: Teaching Methods, Training for Transformation, Extension Management, Food Processing, Corporate Governance and Conflict Management from training institutions in Malaŵi, Israel, Republic of China (Taiwan), Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Egypt, Japan, Germany and Denmark.  With a progressive career spanning over four decades, he has served in the public and private sectors in senior positions including as Board Chairperson for Spear Head Holdings Limited; Chief Executive Officer for Tobacco Control Commission; Director General for State Residences, Office of the President and Cabinet; National Coordinator for One Village One Product (OVOP); Controller of Agricultural and Technical Services, Programme Manager and Senior Agricultural Extension and Training Officer in the Ministry of Agriculture. He is also the Chairperson for Rain Water Harvesting Association of Malaŵi and Tobacco Producing Countries in Africa and the Secretary General for African Agriculture. He is multi-lingua with excellent competences in the following: English, Chichewa and Chitumbuka and fair usage of Japanese, Danish, Swahili, Shona, Sena, Nyungwe and Portuguese.

Dr. Clemence Michael Kadzera - Vice Chairperson
Mrs. Temwani Simwaka - Member
Mr. Dalton Mphepo - Member
Rev. John Gondwe - Member
Mr. Albert B. Jeremiah - Member
The Secretary to the Treasury - Ex Officio
The Comptroller of Statutory Corporations - Ex Officio
The Secretary for Education - Ex Officio
The Secretary for Human Resource Management and Development - Ex Officio
Vice Chancellor of Malawi University of Science and Technology - Ex Officio
Vice Chancellor of University of Malawi - Ex Officio
Vice Chancellor of Malawi Adventist University - Ex Officio